Coconut Products

Coconut Cream vs Coconut Milk for Formulators: Fat Content, Use Case and Cost Math

By E-Silk Route Ventures ·

Coconut Cream vs Coconut Milk for Formulators: Fat Content, Use Case and Cost Math

Buyer’s snapshot

  • Codex Alimentarius sets the legal split: coconut milk carries at least 10% fat and coconut cream at least 20%. Fat, not the word on the label, is what you are buying.
  • The cost comparison that matters is price per kilogram of fat and per kilogram of non-fat solids, not price per kilogram of product. A cream at 34% fat and a milk at 17% fat differ by a factor of two before price is considered.
  • Freight and storage follow the same logic. A 17% milk ships about 1 kg of water for every 1 kg of 34% cream it replaces, so the carriage cost per kilogram of fat doubles.
  • The Silk Foods Ceylon (SFC) coconut cream specification lists 34 g fat, 5 g sugars and 3.6 g protein per 100 g, with a 24 month shelf life when retort sterilised.
  • First-order MOQ for coconut products is 1 metric tonne, supplied from the BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 audited SFC facility in Matale.

Formulation briefs often say “coconut milk” when the real requirement is a fat target and a body target. The two words describe the same extraction at different dilutions, so the choice between them is a choice about how much water you want to buy, ship and then remove or add back. This guide is for CPG, bakery, ready-meal and beverage development teams deciding which format to specify, and for the procurement people who have to price it.

Two live posts cover the neighbouring ground and are linked rather than restated here: the coconut milk fat formats and reconstitution math guide for dilution arithmetic, and the 22% vs 24% fat coconut cream economics post for the glass-jar fat tier.

What actually separates coconut cream from coconut milk?

Fat content, and a matching set of solids limits. Both products come from the same pressing of grated coconut kernel. Cream is the less diluted fraction, and milk is cream with more water in it. Codex Alimentarius classifies aqueous coconut products into four bands, and the table below shows the two this post compares alongside their neighbours (FAO/WHO Codex Alimentarius, CXS 240-2003, as reproduced in the Tetra Pak Coconut Handbook).

Codex bandMinimum fat, % m/mMinimum non-fat solids, % m/mTotal solids, % m/m
Light coconut milk51.66.6 to 12.6
Coconut milk102.712.7 to 25.3
Coconut cream205.425.4 to 37.3
Coconut cream concentrate298.437.4 minimum

Two points get missed. First, the non-fat solids floor doubles from milk to cream, from 2.7% to 5.4%. Cream carries more of the protein, sugar and fibre that give body and flavour, not only more fat. Second, the standard sets pH at 5.9 minimum for these products, which puts them in the low-acid canned food regime once they are retorted. That is why the heat process is a spec item and not a footnote.

Commercial formats sit inside these bands. SFC’s catalogue cream lists 34 g fat per 100 g, well above the 20% floor, and the liquid milk formats the plant runs are 7%, 11%, 17% and 18% fat. A 7% format sits below the 10% milk floor and technically falls in the light band, so check how your target market treats the name on the pack.

How do fat and solids differ in practice?

A 100 g portion of cream carries roughly twice the fat of a standard milk and more of everything else that is not water. The SFC coconut cream specification lists the following per 100 g, and the coconut milk powder is shown as a reference point for a dry format.

Per 100 gSFC coconut creamSFC coconut milk powderTypical retail canned milk (USDA reference)
Energy330 kcal660 kcalabout 197 kcal
Fat34 g65 gabout 21 g
Sugars5 g9 gnot stated here
Protein3.6 g7 gnot stated here
Fibre2 g3 gnot stated here

The USDA canned coconut milk figure comes from a generic reference entry mirrored by third-party databases, and branded products vary, so use it for orientation only and read the specification of the lot you are buying (USDA FoodData Central, via FatSecret mirror, retrieved 15 October 2026). The Tetra Pak Coconut Handbook notes that packaged ASEAN coconut milk and cream generally run 17 to 25% fat, which is a reminder that many retail products sit between the Codex bands and the SFC cream.

From the Trade Team When a brief says “coconut milk” without a fat number, ask for one before quoting. We have seen the same word cover a 7% beverage base and a 22% cream, a threefold gap in fat for what looked like one line item.

Which format fits which application?

Match the format to the job the fat has to do, then work out the water. The list below is a starting point for development teams, and each line assumes you have a freezer, retort or mixer that can handle the viscosity.

  • Curry and sauce bases: a 17% or 18% milk gives body that coats a spoon without further dilution. A cream is used where the sauce will be reduced or finished with extra fat.
  • Ready meals and retort pouches: the fat sets mouthfeel after retort. A 34% cream is diluted in the batch to the target, which lets the factory hold one stock item for several recipes.
  • Dairy-free frozen desserts: fat budget drives the choice. The mass balance is worked in the dairy-free ice cream fat and solids guide.
  • Beverages and RTD blends: a 7% or 11% milk, because the product has to pour and stay stable. Cream needs more dilution and more homogenisation work for the same result.
  • Bakery fillings and custards: cream, for fat and solids at lower water load, so bake loss is easier to control.

For ready meals and curry factories that also weigh milk powder and creamed coconut block against these liquid formats, the next post in this cluster compares all three.

What does each format cost per kilogram of fat?

Divide the quoted price by the fat fraction. That single step converts any coconut quote to a like-for-like number, because fat is what the recipe consumes. The formula is price per kilogram of product divided by fat as a decimal.

Illustrative quotePrice per kg of productFatCost per kg of fat
CreamUSD 2.0034%USD 5.88
Milk, 17%USD 1.1017%USD 6.47
Milk, 17% at break-evenUSD 1.0017%USD 5.88

These prices are invented for the arithmetic and are not SRV quotes. The point is the break-even rule: a 17% milk has to cost half of a 34% cream, or less, to match it per kilogram of fat. Where the milk is priced above that line, the cream plus water you add at your own plant is cheaper, provided you have the mixing and storage to do it.

Add the three costs that the per-fat figure does not capture:

  1. Freight and handling: you pay to move water. For every tonne of 34% cream, the 17% equivalent is two tonnes, so the carriage per kilogram of fat doubles.
  2. Dilution at your site: water, tank time, homogenisation and the quality check that the diluted batch hits its fat target.
  3. Shelf life and pack format: a diluted milk made in your plant has the shelf life you can validate, and the retort-sterilised cream has the 24 month life on the SFC specification.

The dilution step itself is covered in the reconstitution math guide, including the ratio for taking a 24% cream to 11%, 17% and 18% milk.

When does buying the milk format make sense?

Buy the milk when your plant has no capacity to dilute, when the product is filled directly from the supplier’s container, or when the recipe needs a specific milk fat that is not a clean ratio of the cream. A co-packer that fills retail jars needs a stable, spec-matched milk delivered ready to fill, and a private label brand with no processing site has no way to add water. Those buyers pay the freight premium to avoid the work.

Buy the cream when you run your own batching, when the same stock feeds several recipes at different fat levels, or when freight into the destination is expensive. A single cream stock item replaces three or four milk SKUs on a multi-product site, which also cuts the number of COAs and spec sheets to manage.

Where the Silk Route Ventures model doesn’t fit A product that needs a very thin coconut flavour at beverage volumes and the lowest possible price per litre, or a buyer who needs spot parcels with no spec, will find the 1 metric tonne first-order MOQ and the specification-first approach a poor match. SRV will say so at the quote stage. For high-volume commodity coconut water or milk beverages a different supplier model may suit better.

Buyer’s checklist: before you approve a coconut cream or milk

  1. Fat percentage by a named method on every COA, with a tolerance range in the spec
  2. Total solids and non-fat solids, because they drive body at the same fat level
  3. pH of at least 5.9 and the retort or aseptic process named on the specification
  4. Container, fill weight and the 90% fill rule for sealed containers
  5. Shelf life and the storage condition it assumes
  6. A dilution trial from cream to your target fat in your own plant, with viscosity and separation checked at day 1 and at end of shelf life
  7. Price per kilogram of fat and per kilogram of non-fat solids, not per kilogram of product

Sourcing coconut cream from Sri Lanka

Silk Route Ventures (SRV) supplies coconut cream (SKU COCO-CRM) from the Silk Foods Ceylon (SFC) facility in Matale, Central Province, prepared from selected Sri Lankan Cocos nucifera and hygienically processed, retort sterilised or aseptically packed, with no preservatives or artificial additives unless declared. Liquid milk formats at 7%, 11%, 17% and 18% fat are available for co-packing and private label programmes. Specification, COA, SDS, nutrition facts, process flow and product guide are available on request.

Spec snapshot: Coconut cream (COCO-CRM), SFC catalogue Botanical: Cocos nucifera L., Sri Lanka Energy: 330 kcal per 100 g Fat: 34 g, of which saturated 30 g Carbohydrate: 6.7 g, of which sugars 5 g; fibre 2 g Protein: 3.6 g; sodium 10 mg Appearance: smooth, homogeneous, thick white emulsion Shelf life: 24 months retort sterilised; refrigerate after opening Certification: BRCGS, FSSC 22000 V6, HACCP, ISO 22000, GMP

Teams that start from powder can read the coconut milk powder fat percentage guide, and co-packing teams the fill formats and day rates post.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between coconut cream and coconut milk?

Fat content. Codex sets a minimum of 20% fat and 5.4% non-fat solids for coconut cream and 10% fat and 2.7% non-fat solids for coconut milk (CXS 240-2003). Cream is the less diluted fraction, so it carries more fat and more solids per kilogram.

Can I make coconut milk from coconut cream?

Yes, by adding water to a target fat. The mass of the finished batch equals the cream mass times cream fat divided by target fat. A 100 kg of 34% cream makes 200 kg of 17% milk with 100 kg of added water, before allowing for any stabiliser or homogenisation loss.

Is coconut cream or milk cheaper?

Compare price per kilogram of fat. A 17% milk must cost half or less of a 34% cream to match it, and freight on the milk moves twice the water per kilogram of fat. The cheaper option depends on your own dilution capacity and delivered cost.

Does Silk Route Ventures supply private label coconut cream and milk?

Yes. SRV supplies coconut cream and liquid coconut milk formats in bulk and under the buyer’s own label from the Matale facility, with a first-order MOQ of 1 metric tonne and 2 to 3 weeks from PO to dispatch. Samples with a COA ship by international courier in 3 to 5 business days.

How Silk Route Ventures can help

Silk Route Ventures (SRV) supplies coconut cream in bulk and under the buyer’s own label, with liquid coconut milk formats at 7%, 11%, 17% and 18% fat for co-packing and private label programmes. Production runs at the Silk Foods Ceylon facility in Matale under BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6. The first-order MOQ for coconut products is 1 metric tonne, production takes 2 to 3 weeks from PO to dispatch, and sea freight adds 3 to 4 weeks to the EU and Australia or 4 to 5 weeks to the US. For a custom fat level or a new coconut-based formulation, the SRV R&D and NPD team works to a maximum of 3 to 4 weeks from signed brief to approved formulation. Teams comparing the full range can start with the Sri Lankan coconut products range, then contact us to send an inquiry or request a coconut cream sample and COA.

Sources

  1. FAO/WHO Codex Alimentarius, Standard for Aqueous Coconut Products, CXS 240-2003 (fat, non-fat solids and total solids bands; pH minimum 5.9), as reproduced in the Tetra Pak Coconut Handbook, chemistry of coconut milk and cream. https://coconuthandbook.tetrapak.com/chapter/chemistry-coconut-milk-and-cream (retrieved 15 October 2026, via search summary)
  2. Tetra Pak Coconut Handbook, quality parameters and control methodologies (pH at least 5.9; packaged ASEAN milk and cream generally 17 to 25% fat). https://coconuthandbook.tetrapak.com/chapter/quality-parameters-and-quality-control-methodologies (retrieved 15 October 2026, via search summary)
  3. USDA FoodData Central, canned coconut milk or cream (about 21.3 g fat and 197 kcal per 100 g), via FatSecret mirror of the USDA entry. https://android.fatsecret.com/calories-nutrition/usda/coconut-milk-or-cream-(liquid-with-water-canned) (retrieved 15 October 2026, via search summary)
  4. Silk Foods Ceylon product catalogue, Coconut Cream (COCO-CRM) and Coconut Milk Powder (COCO-MLKP): nutrition, shelf life and certification data.

Written by the Silk Route Ventures Trade Team. Silk Route Ventures (E-Silk Route Ventures Ltd) is a Sri Lankan B2B supply-chain operator for the Food, Beverage, Wellness, and Nutraceuticals sectors. The Silk Foods Ceylon manufacturing arm holds BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 certifications. Questions or to request a sample: Contact us or email info@esilkroute.com.lk.

Sourcing authentic Ceylon produce?

Talk to our team about products, specifications and quotes.