DME Virgin Coconut Oil Explained: Direct Micro Expelling for Procurement Buyers
Buyer’s snapshot
- Direct micro expelling (DME) is a small-scale, dry-route method for virgin coconut oil (VCO): fresh grated kernel is dried to about 10 to 11% moisture on a flat-bed dryer, then pressed at low pressure in a hand-operated cylinder press. A standard set handles about 300 nuts in an eight-hour day (Bawalan, Secretariat of the Pacific Community, 2011).
- In a 2018 trial, DME oil from oven-dried kernel reached a 47.9% yield, but its free fatty acid (0.30%) and peroxide value (3.4 meq/kg) sat above the limits most buyers write into a VCO spec (Ghani et al., Food Science & Nutrition, 2018).
- For a brand scaling a coconut-oil SKU, DME is best read as a freshness and origin story at village scale, not as a volume supply route. The capacity maths section below shows why.
- Silk Foods Ceylon (SFC) supplies virgin and extra virgin coconut oil from a BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 audited facility in Matale, with a 1 MT per grade bulk MOQ.
A retail jar labelled “DME virgin coconut oil” tells the shopper something specific: the oil was pressed from fresh kernel within hours of the nut being opened, by a small team using a hand-operated press. That is a real process with a real history, and it produces oil with a genuine freshness story. It is also a process designed for a village, not a CPG supply chain. For formulation and sourcing teams scaling a coconut-oil SKU, the useful questions are what DME actually involves, what the published data says about the oil, and what happens when a supplier quotes “DME-style” oil at container volumes. This piece from the Silk Route Ventures (SRV) trade team works through all three.
It follows the cold-pressed versus centrifuge comparison, which placed DME inside the dry-route family. Here we take it apart step by step.
What is DME virgin coconut oil?
DME virgin coconut oil is oil pressed from fresh, finely grated coconut kernel that has been dried to an intermediate moisture level, around 10 to 11%, and then squeezed at low pressure in a manual cylinder-and-piston press. The system was developed by Dr Dan Etherington of Australia and first installed in Fiji in 1998. Small-scale DME production now runs in Fiji, the Federated States of Micronesia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and Samoa (Bawalan, SPC, 2011).
The idea behind it is that coconut kernel gives up its oil under modest pressure if the moisture is right. Research at the UK’s Natural Resources Institute showed that nuts and seeds can be pressed at about 460 psi when kernel moisture sits between 10 and 13%, against the 1,600 psi and 3 to 4% moisture of a conventional high-pressure expeller (Bawalan, SPC, 2011). DME applies that principle with equipment a village cooperative can own and run: two graters, a coconut-shell-fired drying table built on site, and a rack-and-pinion press with interchangeable stainless steel cylinders.
Because nothing is refined, bleached, or deodorised, well-made DME oil can meet the Asian and Pacific Coconut Community (APCC) standard for virgin coconut oil. The Ceylon virgin coconut oil buyer’s guide sets out that standard and where DME sits among the other routes.
How the DME process works, step by step
The standard DME sequence has six stages. Each one has a failure point a buyer should know about.
- Splitting. Fully mature, husked nuts without cracks, germination, or spongy haustorium are split into half cups. Nut selection is the first quality gate: immature or germinating nuts give poor oil.
- Grating. The fresh kernel is grated out of the shell into fine particles with a motorised grater. Fine, even particle size matters because it controls how evenly the next step dries.
- Drying. The grated kernel is spread thinly on a shell-fired, flat-bed conduction dryer and turned by hand, in batches of about 3 to 3.5 kg in the standard process, until it reaches about 10 to 11% moisture. The SPC manual calls drying “the most critical part” of DME.
- Loading. The warm kernel, at around 70°C, is fed into a pre-heated steel cylinder through a hopper on the dryer.
- Pressing. The cylinder goes into the lever press, the piston compresses the kernel, and oil runs out. The spent cake is pushed out of the tube.
- Settling. The fresh oil carries fine kernel particles, known as foots. Without a motorised filter, it must stand for at least two weeks to clarify before it can be sold.
From splitting to pressed oil, the process takes about four hours, which is the heart of the DME freshness claim (Bawalan, SPC, 2011).
The drying step is where most batches are won or lost. In a DME unit, the operator usually judges moisture by feel. Too dry and the press yields no oil. Too wet and the oil comes out cloudy, mixed with coconut milk, and residual moisture shortens its shelf life. Scorch the kernel and the oil turns yellow, at which point it no longer qualifies as virgin coconut oil at all. The SPC manual names this operator dependence as “the major reason why batches of VCO produced using the DME process have variable quality.”
What the lab data says about DME oil quality
The best head-to-head data comes from a 2018 study that made virgin coconut oil from one batch of coconuts by four routes and tested each oil against the APCC standard (Ghani et al., Food Science & Nutrition, 2018). Two of the four were DME: one with kernel dried in an oven at 40°C for four hours, and one with kernel sun-dried for three to four hours, both pressed with a modified mechanical jack.
| Parameter | DME, oven-dried kernel | DME, sun-dried kernel | Wet route, chilling and centrifuge | Typical buyer spec (APCC basis) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oil yield reported | 47.9% | 40.6% | 20.4% | Not specified |
| Free fatty acid (as lauric) | 0.30% | 0.40% | 0.17% | 0.2% max |
| Peroxide value (meq O2/kg) | 3.4 | 4.2 | 2.2 | 3 max |
| Moisture | 0.10% | 0.17% | 0.15% | 0.1 to 0.2% max, per contract |
| Total phenolic content (mg GAE/g) | 1.56 | 8.57 | 1.16 | Not specified |
| Lauric acid (C12:0) | 52.8% | 48.4% | 52.6% | Not specified |
Source: Ghani et al., Food Science & Nutrition 6(5), 2018. Yields are as reported in the study and are not on a common kernel basis across routes, so treat them as direction, not a costing input. The last column shows the limits commonly written into VCO contracts; confirm the current APCC figures with your supplier.
Read the table from a procurement desk and three things stand out.
The yield advantage is real. The dry route extracts oil from concentrated kernel, and the oven-dried DME oil came out at more than twice the reported yield of the centrifuge oil.
The oxidation markers are the weak point. On the numbers reported, both DME oils were above the 0.2% free fatty acid ceiling, and both were above a 3 meq/kg peroxide limit. The sun-dried oil, with the least drying control, was highest on both. That fits the process: warm, moist kernel sitting in open air is where hydrolysis and oxidation start.
The drying method changed the flavour signature more than the route did. Sun-dried DME oil carried more than five times the phenolic content of oven-dried DME oil from the same nuts. Phenolics track the coconut aroma a sensory panel picks up, so two “DME” oils can taste quite different depending on how the kernel was dried.
One study is not a supplier specification. A skilled DME operator with good nuts can land inside a buyer’s spec, and a careless one can miss by a wide margin. That spread is the point. With DME, the operator is the process control.
Why DME rarely suits a scaled CPG supply
The capacity figure in the SPC manual is the number that decides most procurement conversations: about 300 nuts per standard set per eight-hour day.
Here is what that means for a 1 MT order, using an illustrative ratio of 10 to 12 mature nuts per litre of oil (the real figure varies with nut size and kernel quality, so ask the processor for theirs). Three hundred nuts give roughly 25 to 30 litres a day. One tonne of coconut oil is about 1,090 litres. One DME set would need somewhere between 36 and 44 working days to press a single tonne, and the last oil pressed would then need two weeks of settling before it could ship.
| Question a buyer asks | DME (village scale) | Industrial dry route (mechanical dryer + expeller) |
|---|---|---|
| Throughput | About 300 nuts per set per 8-hour day | Mechanical dryers in Sri Lanka, India, and the Philippines handle 150 to 800 kg of dried kernel per hour |
| Moisture control | Judged by hand and feel | Instrumented dryer, logged temperature and time |
| Batch consistency | Varies with operator skill | Held by process control and batch testing |
| Clarification | Gravity settling, 2 weeks minimum | Filter press, same-day clarity |
| Freshness claim | Oil within about 4 hours of splitting | Depends on nut-to-press time; ask for it |
| Best fit | Artisanal and origin-story retail jars | CPG formulation, private label, repeat container volumes |
Sources: Bawalan, SPC, 2011, for DME throughput, settling, and dryer capacity. Litres-per-day figures are illustrative.
To reach steady container volumes on DME, a supplier has to aggregate oil from many small units, each with its own operator, drying habits, and settling tanks. That is possible, and several Pacific cooperatives do it well for retail. But every added unit is another source of batch variation, and your COA only describes the drum it was drawn from. A formulation that has to taste the same in month 12 as at pilot needs either tight aggregation discipline or a single controlled line.
There is also a texture difference worth knowing. The SPC manual notes that low-pressure VCO is less viscous than high-pressure expeller oil, because fewer of the natural gums come out with the oil, and its coconut aroma is less intense. High-pressure expeller VCO is more viscous, with a moderately intense aroma, and is often used as a base oil in speciality soaps and cosmetics. For personal-care brands, that difference is sometimes the whole spec.
Which label claims DME oil can support
“DME” on a pack is a process claim, and it carries two separate questions.
The first is the name itself. DME retail products are typically sold with a registered trademark symbol against the term, which signals the name is tied to the system’s owner. If your supplier is running a similar low-pressure process on different equipment, ask before you print “DME.” “Virgin coconut oil, pressed from fresh dried kernel” is an accurate description that needs no one’s permission.
The second is “cold pressed.” Under the Codex Standard for Named Vegetable Oils (CXS 210-1999), cold-pressed oils are obtained by mechanical means without the application of heat. DME kernel is dried on a heated table and loaded at around 70°C into a warmed cylinder. That is gentle compared with copra processing, but it is heat. Whether your destination market accepts “cold pressed” for a DME oil depends on how its labelling authority reads the Codex wording, and the supplier should document drying and pressing temperatures either way. The private label coconut oil spec sheet for EU importers covers the Codex fields EU labels draw on.
“Virgin,” “unrefined,” and “fresh-pressed” are all comfortably supported by a well-made DME oil that meets the APCC spec.
What to ask a supplier quoting DME or DME-style oil
If “DME” or “direct micro expelled” appears on a quotation, these questions separate a genuine small-batch oil from a label.
- How many press units supply this oil, and where are they? One unit or a named cooperative is a DME supply. Dozens of unnamed units aggregated at a depot is a blend, and you should ask how the blend is controlled.
- How is kernel moisture checked before pressing? “By feel” is honest for a village unit. For a supply contract, ask for a measured method and a recorded range.
- What is the clarification step? Two weeks of gravity settling, or a filter press? Settled-only oil is more likely to show sediment in a clear retail jar.
- Can you send a production-batch sample and the COA for that batch? Check free fatty acid and peroxide value against your spec, because the 2018 data shows those are the parameters DME oils most often miss.
- What claim will I be printing? Get written confirmation that the process supports “DME,” “cold pressed,” or “raw” for your destination market before artwork is signed off.
- Is the extraction route stated on every COA? A route change should never arrive as a routine shipment. The traceability and COA cadence primer covers the other fields to lock in.
The same questions apply to any supplier, SFC included. The route belongs on the spec sheet whoever is quoting. For the wider checklist when vetting a coconut processor, see how to qualify a coconut and plant-based contract manufacturer. If the choice is still between virgin and refined oil, go back one step to the virgin versus RBD decision guide.
The part of the DME story that holds up best is the one that has nothing to do with equipment. The system was built to let coconut-growing families press oil from their own nuts the same morning they split them, instead of selling copra into a long, low-value chain. The oil is good because the distance between tree and press is short. Buyers who want that quality at scale should look for the same principle in a larger operation: fresh kernel, short nut-to-press time, controlled drying, and a named origin they can trace.
Where DME is the wrong buy
If the brief is a neutral, consistent oil for a formulation running at several tonnes a month, DME is the wrong route, and paying for the DME story on an ingredient nobody sees on pack is wasted margin. A centrifuge or controlled industrial dry-route VCO is the better fit. If the brief is a lowest-price industrial fat, no virgin oil is the answer; RBD coconut oil is.
Frequently asked questions
What does DME mean on virgin coconut oil?
DME stands for direct micro expelling, a small-scale process developed by Dr Dan Etherington in which fresh grated coconut is dried to about 10 to 11% moisture and pressed at low pressure in a manual press. The oil is produced within about four hours of splitting the nut (Bawalan, SPC, 2011).
Is DME coconut oil better than other virgin coconut oil?
Not automatically. In a 2018 trial, DME oil from oven-dried kernel had a 47.9% yield but a free fatty acid of 0.30% and peroxide value of 3.4 meq/kg, both above common VCO limits, while centrifuge oil tested at 0.17% and 2.2 (Ghani et al., 2018). Freshness is its strength; consistency is its weakness.
Can DME virgin coconut oil be labelled cold pressed?
It depends on the market. Codex CXS 210-1999 defines cold-pressed oils as mechanically extracted without heat, but DME kernel is dried on a heated table and loaded at around 70°C. Ask the supplier to document drying and pressing temperatures and check your destination market’s labelling rules before printing the claim.
How much virgin coconut oil can a DME unit produce?
A standard DME set processes about 300 nuts per eight-hour day (Bawalan, SPC, 2011). At an illustrative 10 to 12 nuts per litre, that is roughly 25 to 30 litres a day, so one tonne of oil would take a single set 36 to 44 working days, plus two weeks of settling.
Does Silk Route Ventures supply bulk virgin coconut oil for private label?
Yes. SRV supplies virgin and extra virgin coconut oil in bulk drums and retail glass from the BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 audited SFC facility in Matale. Bulk MOQ is 1 MT per grade, with a 2 to 3 week lead time from PO to dispatch and a COA on every batch.
How Silk Route Ventures can help
Silk Route Ventures supplies virgin and extra virgin coconut oil to CPG, food, and personal-care brands across the US, EU, and Australia, from fresh kernel sourced in the Matale and Central Province coconut belt and processed at the BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 audited Silk Foods Ceylon facility. Bulk MOQ is 1 MT per grade, lead time is 2 to 3 weeks from PO to dispatch, and every batch ships with a COA. Samples go door-to-door by international courier in 3 to 5 business days, so aroma, clarity, and the numbers can be approved on a production sample before the first PO. For brands launching a retail jar under their own label, the same site runs private label filling in glass. Contact us to send an inquiry or request a sample.
Sources
- Bawalan, D. D., Processing Manual for Virgin Coconut Oil, its Products and By-products for Pacific Island Countries and Territories, Secretariat of the Pacific Community, Noumea, 2011. https://www.service-public.pf/dag/wp-content/uploads/sites/28/2021/08/Processing-Manual-for-Virgin-Coconut-Oil.pdf (retrieved 26 September 2026)
- Ghani, N. A. A., Channip, A., Chok Hwee Hwa, P., Ja’afar, F., Yasin, H. M., and Usman, A., “Physicochemical properties, antioxidant capacities, and metal contents of virgin coconut oil produced by wet and dry processes”, Food Science & Nutrition 6(5), 1298-1306, 2018. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6060898/ (retrieved 26 September 2026)
- Codex Alimentarius Commission, Standard for Named Vegetable Oils, CXS 210-1999 (as amended). https://www.fao.org/fao-who-codexalimentarius/sh-proxy/en/?lnk=1&url=https%3A%2F%2Fworkspace.fao.org%2Fsites%2Fcodex%2FStandards%2FCXS+210-1999%2FCXS_210e.pdf (retrieved 26 September 2026)
- Asian and Pacific Coconut Community, Virgin Coconut Oil standard. https://www.apccsec.org/products-detail/virgin-coconut-oil (retrieved 26 September 2026)
Further reading
- Cold-pressed vs centrifuge virgin coconut oil: what the extraction method changes
- The B2B buyer’s guide to Ceylon virgin coconut oil (2026)
Written by the Silk Route Ventures Trade Team. Silk Route Ventures (E-Silk Route Ventures Ltd) is a Sri Lankan B2B supply-chain operator for the Food, Beverage, Wellness, and Nutraceuticals sectors. The Silk Foods Ceylon manufacturing arm holds BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 certifications. Questions or to request a sample: Contact us or email info@esilkroute.com.lk.