Supplements

Standardized Botanical Extract RFQ Checklist: Marker Compound, Solvent, and COA Specs

By E-Silk Route Ventures ·

Standardized Botanical Extract RFQ Checklist: Marker Compound, Solvent, and COA Specs

Buyer’s snapshot

  • Fortune Business Insights values the global botanical extracts market at USD 6.91 billion in 2025, rising to USD 7.54 billion in 2026. Volume that size draws economic adulteration, and marker-compound percentage alone no longer catches it.
  • The Botanical Adulterants Prevention Program’s Stefan Gafner reported in April 2026 that synthetic marker spiking, pure curcumin added to turmeric extract, synthetic S-allyl-L-cysteine added to garlic extract, now defeats testing that checks the marker compound only.
  • ICH Q3C sets a 30.0 mg per day permitted daily exposure (3,000 ppm) for methanol and 2.9 mg per day (290 ppm) for hexane, both Class 2 solvents. An RFQ that does not name the permitted extraction solvent leaves this parameter to the supplier.
  • Under 21 CFR 111.75(a)(1), a certificate of analysis alone does not satisfy the identity-testing requirement for an incoming botanical extract lot. The buyer’s own manufacturer still has to test for identity.
  • Silk Route Ventures (SRV) supplies standardized botanical extracts and contract-manufactures capsules and finished formats at Matale under BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6, with a 50 kg per SKU raw-material MOQ and a COA on every batch.

Most standardized-extract RFQs a Sri Lankan or Indian supplier receives read the same way: extract name, a ratio like 10:1, a marker-compound percentage, a target price. That is a price bracket, not a specification. It does not name the assay method, does not separate the marker compound from the whole plant profile it is meant to represent, does not state the extraction solvent, and says nothing about how the batch will still meet spec eighteen months after it ships. This piece is the checklist for closing those gaps before the purchase order is cut, written for procurement teams and formulators sourcing turmeric, green tea, grape seed, milk thistle, bilberry, and comparable standardized extracts for capsules, tablets, and functional-food inclusions.

The starting point is scale. Fortune Business Insights puts the global botanical extracts market at USD 6.91 billion in 2025, climbing to USD 7.54 billion in 2026. A category that size is worth adulterating, and the adulteration has moved past the point a marker-compound assay alone can catch.

Does the extraction ratio reconcile with the marker-compound claim?

An extraction ratio and a marker-compound percentage are two claims about the same starting material, and they constrain each other the same way across every standardized extract, not just one botanical. Divide the claimed marker-compound percentage by the extraction ratio and the result is the minimum concentration the raw plant material would have had to carry before extraction. If that implied figure sits above what the published literature reports for the species and plant part in question, the ratio, the assay, or the declared plant part is doing work the spec sheet does not disclose.

Claimed specWhat the division impliesWorth a question?
10:1, standardized to a marker level consistent with typical wild-type contentImplied starting material concentration matches published rangesNo
10:1, standardized well above the typical published ceiling for the speciesImplied starting concentration exceeds what the raw plant carriesYes, ask for the raw-material assay
4:1, standardized to a high marker percentageImplied starting concentration is two to three times the published rangeYes, likely fortified or a different plant part

The arithmetic runs the same way regardless of which extract sits in the RFQ. It assumes complete recovery of the marker compound into the extract, which no solvent process achieves, and it assumes no carrier has been added. Both assumptions understate the true implied figure, so a division that already looks high is a floor, not a worst case.

SRV finding: running this division across incoming supplier quotes costs nothing and catches the same four failure modes every time, a nominal rather than measured ratio, a non-specific assay reading more than the named marker, a substituted or blended plant part, or a fortified extract. Each has a different remedy, and a spec that does not distinguish them treats all four as one problem.

What closes the gap a marker-compound assay leaves open?

A marker-compound assay tells a buyer how much of one named compound the extract contains. It does not tell the buyer whether that compound arrived from the declared plant, the declared plant part, or a synthetic source blended in afterward. Stefan Gafner, chief science officer at the American Botanical Council, presented findings in April 2026 at the Oxford International Conference on the Science of Botanicals describing a rising pattern of synthetic marker spiking across the botanical extract category: pure curcumin added to turmeric extract, synthetic S-allyl-L-cysteine added to garlic extract, both engineered specifically to pass a marker-only assay.

The remedy is the same one the pharmaceutical raw-material world already uses: an identity test that is orthogonal to the potency assay, rather than a second potency method. A chromatographic fingerprint that profiles the full compound spectrum, not just the marker peak, catches a spiked extract that a single-compound HPLC assay would pass cleanly. Under 21 CFR 111.75(a)(1), the receiving manufacturer has to run this identity verification itself; a supplier’s certificate of analysis, however complete, does not satisfy the requirement on its own.

For a worked example of the same reconciliation logic applied to a single botanical, see the ashwagandha root extract spec guide, which walks through the withanolide-specific version of this arithmetic in full.

What residual solvent limits apply to the extraction system?

The extraction solvent is a specification line, not a manufacturing detail the buyer can leave unstated. ICH Q3C classes extraction and processing solvents by toxicity, and the permitted daily exposure differs by an order of magnitude between classes. Water and ethanol extractions fall under Class 3, where residual limits are generous and typically accepted without further justification. Methanol and hexane sit in Class 2, with a materially tighter ceiling: methanol’s permitted daily exposure is 30.0 mg per day, a concentration limit of 3,000 ppm, while hexane’s is 2.9 mg per day, a concentration limit of 290 ppm, more than ten times stricter than methanol on a concentration basis.

SolventICH Q3C classPermitted daily exposureConcentration limit
EthanolClass 3Generally accepted without justificationHigh, category default
AcetoneClass 3Generally accepted without justificationHigh, category default
MethanolClass 230.0 mg/day3,000 ppm
HexaneClass 22.9 mg/day290 ppm

An RFQ that names the permitted solvent system, rather than leaving the choice to the supplier, prevents a Class 2 solvent from arriving under a Class 3 assumption, and it gives the receiving lab the right method to test against. This is the same clause that belongs in any spice or spec-driven RFQ: name the standard, name the method, and the number stops being negotiable after the fact.

What stability and shelf-life data should the RFQ require?

A marker-compound assay on the day of manufacture says nothing about whether the extract still meets spec at the point a finished capsule reaches a retail shelf. ICH Q1A(R2) sets the reference conditions: long-term stability testing at 25 degrees Celsius, 60 percent relative humidity, run for a minimum of twelve months, with accelerated testing at 40 degrees Celsius, 75 percent relative humidity, run for six months to flag degradation risk early. A supplier who can produce real-time and accelerated stability data against these conditions, rather than a shelf-life number with no testing behind it, is the supplier whose extract will still assay on-spec at the far end of a finished product’s stated shelf life.

Buyer’s checklist: what to request before the RFQ closes

  1. Marker compound named, with the assay method stated alongside the result
  2. Extraction ratio stated as a native ratio, before any carrier or excipient addition, with the carrier declared separately
  3. Botanical identity confirmed by orthogonal fingerprint testing, not marker-assay alone
  4. Extraction solvent system named, with residual limits set to the correct ICH Q3C class
  5. Real-time stability data (25C/60% RH, minimum 12 months) and accelerated data (40C/75% RH, 6 months)
  6. Heavy metals, pesticide residue, and microbiological panel aligned to the destination market
  7. Per-lot COA with every method and limit printed alongside the result, not a boilerplate certificate

What co-manufacturing questions belong alongside the raw-material spec?

A buyer sourcing a standardized extract for a finished capsule or tablet SKU is rarely buying raw material in isolation, and the RFQ should ask the co-manufacturing questions in the same document rather than in a follow-up email. The questions that change a quote meaningfully: does the same facility that supplies the extract also encapsulate it, so identity and potency travel with one audit trail instead of two; what is the finished-format MOQ, since an extract MOQ and a capsule MOQ are not the same commitment; what is the production lead time from purchase order to dispatch; and does the facility’s certification scope cover both the raw-material intake and the finished-format process, or only one.

At the Silk Foods Ceylon facility in Matale, the answer to the first question is structural rather than contractual: raw botanical intake and capsule encapsulation sit on the same FSSC 22000 V6 scope and the same cellular manufacturing layout, which is what lets a 400-plus SKU range run without a separate audit cycle per new introduction. Capsule contract manufacturing starts at 180 bottles per single shift, against a line capacity of 100,000 capsules per shift and 200,000 per day, figures covered in more depth in the capsule contract manufacturing MOQ guide and the herbal capsule and powder co-manufacturing capacity breakdown.

How Silk Foods Ceylon handles standardized extract sourcing and finished-format manufacturing

Silk Route Ventures (SRV) supplies standardized botanical extracts and manufactures capsules and finished formats from the Silk Foods Ceylon (SFC) facility at Hapugasyaya in Nalanda, Matale, roughly 1 km from Nalanda Gedige near the geographic centre of Sri Lanka. The site runs a 10,000 sq ft processing floor on a cellular manufacturing layout.

Certification snapshot: Silk Foods Ceylon, Matale BRCGS (covers the herb, spice, coconut, and plant-based lines) FSSC 22000 V6 (covers the full processing scope, including encapsulation) USDA Organic and EU Organic (per SKU) Registered with the Sri Lanka Export Development Board and with Sri Lanka’s Department of Ayurveda; FDA-registered facility

Bulk raw-material MOQ is 50 kg per SKU on a first order, applied per product rather than pooled across a multi-extract launch. Capsule contract manufacturing runs from 180 bottles per single shift. Samples ship door to door by international courier at 3 to 5 business days. Production lead time from purchase order to dispatch is 2 to 3 weeks, with sea freight at 3 to 4 weeks to the EU and 4 to 5 weeks to the US. COA is issued on every batch, with third-party testing available against buyer-specified parameters, the mechanism that carries the solvent, identity, and stability requirements above onto an actual document rather than a verbal assurance.

Frequently asked questions

What should a standardized botanical extract purchase spec always name?

The marker compound and assay method, the extraction ratio stated as a native figure before any carrier addition, the botanical identity test method, the extraction solvent system with the correct ICH Q3C class limit, and the real-time and accelerated stability testing conditions. A three-line spec naming only the ratio and the marker percentage leaves all of that to the supplier to decide.

Is a certificate of analysis enough to verify a botanical extract’s identity?

No. Under 21 CFR 111.75(a)(1), the receiving manufacturer has to conduct its own identity verification on every incoming lot; a supplier’s COA does not satisfy the identity-testing requirement on its own, even when the certificate is complete and accurate on every other parameter.

Why does the extraction solvent need to be specified by name?

ICH Q3C sets materially different permitted daily exposure limits by solvent class, methanol at 30.0 mg per day and hexane at 2.9 mg per day, both Class 2, against Class 3 solvents like ethanol and acetone, which carry a much higher accepted threshold. An RFQ that does not name the permitted solvent leaves this gap open to the supplier’s process of the day.

What stability data should accompany a standardized extract quote?

Real-time stability data at 25 degrees Celsius and 60 percent relative humidity for a minimum of twelve months, plus accelerated data at 40 degrees Celsius and 75 percent relative humidity for six months, per ICH Q1A(R2). A shelf-life claim without testing behind it at those conditions is an assertion, not a specification.

Does Silk Route Ventures supply standardized extracts and contract-manufacture capsules from the same facility?

Yes. Raw botanical extract intake and capsule encapsulation run on the same FSSC 22000 V6 scope and the same cellular manufacturing layout at the Matale facility, so identity and potency testing travel with one audit trail. Capsule contract manufacturing starts at 180 bottles per single shift, and bulk extract MOQ is 50 kg per SKU on a first order.

How Silk Route Ventures can help

Silk Route Ventures (SRV) contract-manufactures finished capsule and tablet SKUs and supplies bulk standardized botanical extracts under one roof at the Silk Foods Ceylon (SFC) facility in Matale. The site holds FSSC 22000 V6 covering the full processing scope, including encapsulation, plus BRCGS for the relevant lines. The cellular manufacturing layout means a new extract or SKU introduction does not require a separate audit cycle, and the SRV R&D and NPD team can scope a formulation in parallel with the production plan. For buyers writing a first standardized-extract specification, the SRV team will review a draft spec against the parameters above and return a matched COA template alongside the quotation. Contact us to send an inquiry for a co-manufacturing capability briefing tailored to your SKU and target launch volume.

Sources

  1. Fortune Business Insights, “Botanical Extracts Market Size, Share and Industry Analysis,” report updated 31 August 2026, retrieved 2026-09-14, https://www.fortunebusinessinsights.com/botanical-extracts-market-106042
  2. Stefan Gafner (American Botanical Council), “Fifteen Years of the ABC-AHP-NCNPR Botanical Adulterants Prevention Program: What Have We Learned?,” Oxford International Conference on the Science of Botanicals 2026 program, University of Mississippi eGrove, dated 23 April 2026, retrieved 2026-09-14, https://egrove.olemiss.edu/icsb/2026_ICSB/Schedule/29/
  3. US FDA / ICH, “Q3C, Tables and List Guidance for Industry,” Revision 3, June 2017, retrieved 2026-09-14, https://www.fda.gov/media/71737/download
  4. EMA / ICH, “ICH Q1A (R2), Stability Testing of New Drug Substances and Drug Products” (CPMP/ICH/2736/99), Step 5, August 2003, retrieved 2026-09-14, https://www.ema.europa.eu/en/ich-q1a-r2-stability-testing-new-drug-substances-drug-products-scientific-guideline
  5. United States Pharmacopeia, “Powdered Decaffeinated Green Tea Extract” monograph (USP-NF), DOI 10.31003/USPNF_M2500_06_01, retrieved 2026-09-14, https://doi.usp.org/USPNF/USPNF_M2500_06_01.html
  6. Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute, current text of 21 CFR 111.75, retrieved 2026-09-14, https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/111.75

Further reading

Written by the Silk Route Ventures Trade Team. Silk Route Ventures (E-Silk Route Ventures Ltd) is a Sri Lankan B2B supply-chain operator for the Food, Beverage, Wellness, and Nutraceuticals sectors. The Silk Foods Ceylon manufacturing arm holds BRCGS and FSSC 22000 V6 certification. Questions or to request a sample: Contact us or email info@esilkroute.com.lk.

Sourcing authentic Ceylon produce?

Talk to our team about products, specifications and quotes.